Four is a magic number for Democrats in Milton Township

By Jerry Abends

April 4th is fast approaching and the race is on for a contested election to Milton Township’s four Board of Trustees’ seats (all currently occupied by Republicans).  In this April, 2017 election we have four Democrats running for seats on Milton Township Board of Trustees: Brandon Smith, Tom Gramm, Bruce Fogerty and Roz Iaccino.   Members of the board serve four year terms.  And, Board meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month, 7:30 PM at 1492 N. Main St. Wheaton, IL.

Milton Township’s Board of Trustees consists of a Township Supervisor and four Trustees.  The Board manages and directs the township’s functions.  The Assessor’s Office is responsible for locating all taxable property in in the township and establishing its value.  Milton’s Highway Department maintains about 90 linear miles of accepted roads and road right-of-ways.  The township also provides general assistance and operates a food pantry, operates a mosquito abatement district, cares for three ‘pioneer’ cemeteries, runs a Ride DuPage program and provides a youth scholarship program.

Between the township’s General Town Fund, General Assistance Fund, Special Police District Fund and Mosquito Abatement District Fund, the township has total expenditures and appropriations of $2.5 million for the fiscal year starting April 1, 2015, and ending March 31, 2016.  The township also has a road and bridge budget.

Milton Township’s 36 square miles include the cities of Wheaton and Glen Ellyn, plus portions of Carol Stream, Downers Grove, Glendale Heights, Lisle, Lombard, Naperville and Winfield, representing more than 117,000 people.

For more information about the Milton Township Board go to the website:

Leave a reply